Election 2017

  • Dearborn candidate forums available online

    Election 2017The League of Women Voters of Dearborn/Dearborn Heights candidate forums for those running for Dearborn city offices can be viewed online at www.cityofdearborn.org (direct link https://cdtv.viebit.com/).

    In anticipation of the Aug. 8 primary election, the League hosted three forums on June 19 and 21, covering the Mayoral race, City Clerk race, and City Council race. Those forums are currently available online.

    Candidates running for mayor are Edward Binkley, Hakim Fakhoury, Mayor John B. O’Reilly Jr., Jim Parrelly, and Thomas Tafelski.

    All seven City Council seats are open. There are 16 candidates: incumbents Robert Abraham, David Bazzy, Susan Dabaja, Brian O’Donnell, and Michael Sareini; and new candidates Ziad Abdulmalik, Nada Al-Hanooti, Fayrouz Bazzi, Erin Byrnes, Sharon Dulmage, Regan Ford, Sean Green, Rifaat Hacham, Ramez Haidar, Leslie Herrick and Kenneth Paris.

    City Clerk candidates are Ameer Yousef Abusalah, Adam Alee, George T. Darany, Nofila J. Haidar, and John Joseph Schimizzi.

    The polls for the August 8 primary will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.