The Dearborn Allied War Veterans Council (DAWVC) is accepting nominations for the 2017-18 Dearborn Veteran of the Year award. The deadline for nominations is Thursday, Oct. 5.

Nomination can be submitted through the City website at  Search for “Veteran of the Year”.  Printable forms are also available online at the City website and at the Dearborn Administrative Center’s front desk, 16901 Michigan Avenue.

The award is presented each Veterans Day to the Dearborn veteran judged to have made a significant contribution to the Dearborn community and to the interests of veterans.

The following criteria apply to all nominations:Veterans of the Year with mayor 2016

  • The nominee must be a Dearborn resident.
  • Nominations can be made by Dearborn residents or Dearborn veterans’ organizations.
  • The nominee’s community service work and work on behalf of veterans’ organizations must have been done only on a volunteer basis.
  • Nominees do not need to be an active member of a Dearborn veterans’ organization but at-large nominations must contain proof of military service.

There have been 35 Veterans of the Year since DAWVC initiated the award in 1982.

Veterans of the Year are remembered at the Dearborn Administrative Center on an engraved wall plaque.

Duties for the new Veteran of the Year include providing remarks at the Veterans Day service and leading the Pledge of Allegiance at ceremonies on Memorial Day and Flag Day.

The Veteran of the Year award will be presented during the City’s Veterans Day ceremony.  The ceremony will be Saturday, November 11 at 11 a.m. at Edsel Ford High School, 20601 Rotunda.

The public is welcome.

For more information, call (313) 943-2285


Shown in the photo:


Past Veterans of the Year lined up after the Veterans Day Ceremony in 2016.  From the left are Al Tortonesi, Frank Pelaccio, Leo Barrett, Lenny Pitek, John Bendzick, Ray Wantuck, Mayor John B. O’Reilly, Jr., Dan Ryder, Charles “Andy” Anderson, Ken VanHooser, George Harvey, and John Ruselowski.