Dearborn City Council meetings are held at 7:30 p.m. on scheduled Tuesdays. The Council’s Committee of the Whole meetings are held at 7:30 p.m. on Thursdays preceding regular meetings. 

City Council Members

Email all City Council members

2022 Mike Sareini 

Council President Michael T. Sareini (Click to email)

Michael T. Sareini is a lifelong resident of Dearborn, a proud product of Dearborn Public Schools and a Fordson graduate, class of 1990. While raising his family of five and working full time, Michael went back to law school, graduating from the Thomas L. Cooley School of Law with honors, and is a practicing attorney in the State of Michigan. He was first elected in 2014 and won the position of City Council president in this past election by a historic margin. He will continue to use his experience and knowledge to advocate for the residents of Dearborn. 

2022 Erin Byrnes

Council President Pro Tem Erin Byrnes (Click to email)

Erin Byrnes was raised in Dearborn and is a graduate of the University of Michigan-Dearborn and the City University of New York. As an educator, she previously served in New York City Public Schools and has worked at the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor for the past 10 years. Erin is committed to advancing social justice, and as a City Council member, she will continue to advocate for equitable access to resources throughout Dearborn.

2022 Leslie Herrick 

Council Member Leslie C. Herrick (Click to email)

Leslie C. Herrick, beginning her second term on Council, is certified by the Michigan Municipal League’s Elected Officials Academy and is accredited public relations professional. While working for organizations including Dearborn Public Schools, Dearborn Community Fund, City of Dearborn, and DFCU Financial, she has led projects, like the Homecoming Festival, that unite and enrich the Dearborn community.  Leslie’s volunteer leadership includes roles with her neighborhood association, Dearborn Symphony, Dearborn Education Foundation, Scouts, Dearborn Historical Society, Sierra Club, and League of Women Voters. Leslie has a son, Brendan Hay, and is a graduate of Dearborn High School, Henry Ford College honors program, and Wayne State University.

2022 Kamal Alsawafy

Council Member Kamal Alsawafy (Click to email)

Kamal Alsawafy is a longtime Dearborn resident and a product of the Dearborn Public Schools. He currently serves our country as a lieutenant in the Michigan Army National Guard. He also serves our county as the business development manager. Now, he is looking forward to serving our city as your Council member.

2022 Ken Paris

 Council Member Ken Paris (Click to email)

Ken Paris is a longtime Dearborn resident who served as a police and command officer with the Dearborn Police and the University of Michigan-Dearborn public safety. He has two children, Brandon and Hailey, and two grandchildren, Michael and Avery. His son Brandon, daughter Hailey, and son-in-law Shawn are police officers, and his daughter-in-law Erika is an X-ray technician. Ken and his wife Jamie have been married for over 41 years, and he credits his successful City Council campaign to Jamie’s organizational skills, focus and persistence.

2022 Robert Abraham

Council Member Robert Abraham (Click to email)

Elected to serve the City of Dearborn for over 20 years as a City Council member, Robert Abraham has three grown children, Brandon, Jared and Mary Kate. He is a proud product of Dearborn Public Schools, and a graduate of Fordson High School and Hillsdale College. He has served on many community service organizations, including the Henry Ford College Foundation Board of Directors, and the Fordson High School Varsity Alumni Club Board of Directors. He is looking forward to serving Dearborn with a new mayor, a new administration and both new and incumbent council members for his sixth term of office. 

2022 Mustapha Hammoud

Council Member Mustapha Hammoud (Click to email)

Mustapha Hammoud is an electrical engineer and has been working at Ford Motor Company since 2011, where he’s assigned to Electrified Propulsion Engineering as a program control engineer. He is passionate about data-driven public policy, and hopes to bring a unique and problem-solving perspective to the City Council. Mustapha is a graduate of Dearborn Public Schools, including the Dearborn Center for Math Science and Technology and Henry Ford College as a dual enrollment student. He received his degree in electrical engineering from the University of Michigan-Dearborn, and has been a community activist and volunteer for over a decade.

Public Comment Section of Council Rules of Order

There are specific rules regarding public comments from the Council Rules of Order section 5.1. Those are as follows: 

Each person shall be given a reasonable opportunity to address the Council concerning an item listed on the Council agenda. The Meeting Chair may impose a three (3) minute time limitation for each person’s comments. The City Clerk shall notify any citizen addressing the Council upon expiration of the allotted time and further advise of the procedure to be followed to reduce the comments to writing and, if desired, assist in the processing thereof.

If a person wishes to expand on either an item of new business, an issue that is not on the Council agenda, or an item appearing on the Council agenda beyond the time allotted for verbal presentation, the matter shall be reduced to writing and filed with the City Clerk. On all items so filed falling within the realm of Council jurisdiction and requiring Council action, the City Clerk shall refer the matter to the appropriate department within the City administration for report back at the next Committee of the Whole meeting or as soon thereafter as practical.

Click on the email links above to contact specific council members. If you need to contact City Council with a message that requires attachments, please send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.